Community Services

Community Services

The Community Services and Health Industry Council reports that within the next 10-15 years over 60% of people currently employed in community services and health are going to retire. There is consequently a very large demand for skilled workers in this sector.

Due to Australia's ageing population and an increasing incidence of disability, the issue of aged care and disability services has been highlighted as a key concern for the next 20 years.

Skillset offers training in the following qualifications:

  • Certificate III in Aged Care
  • Certificate III in Home and Community Care
  • Certificate IV in Disability

Aged Care can fall into a number of categories including high care, low care and veterans home care.

A disability may be physical, cognitive, mental, sensory, emotional, developmental or some combination of these.
Disabilities are an umbrella term, covering impairments, activity limitations, and participation restrictions. Impairment is a problem in body function or structure; an activity limitation is a difficulty encountered by an individual in executing a task or action; while a participation restriction is a problem experienced by an individual in involvement in life situations. Thus disability is a complex phenomenon, reflecting an interaction between features of a person’s body and features of the society in which he or she lives. (World Health Organization)

An individual may also qualify as disabled if he/she has had an impairment in the past or is seen as disabled based on a personal or group standard or norm. Such impairments may include physical, sensory, and cognitive or developmental disabilities. Mental disorders (also known as psychiatric or psychosocial disability) and various types of chronic disease may also qualify as disabilities.

For more information, please contact our
Workforce Development Team